Longmont City Council to Vote on New Oil and Gas Regulations on July 17th, 2012

The Longmont City Council on July 17th will vote on oil and gas regulations ordinance O-2012-25.  The new ordinance, if approved, would introduce a new layer of local regulations that would need to be met by the oil land gas industry before any oil and gas development could occur  This new layer of regulations is opposed by the industry and the State as duplicative and detrimental to the development of mineral resources that are already heavily regulated by the Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission at a State level.  If the Council approves a version of the ordinance on July 17th, the ordinance would become effective on July 30th.  This vote comes after an extension of a moratorium on all new oil and gas drilling permits within the city limits until July 31st 2012.

Voters and other interested parties can Contact the Longmont City Council to have their voices heard on this topic before the July 17 meeting when this proposed regulation is to be voted on .

Mayor Dennis Coombs, (303) 651-8602 or dennis.coombs@ci.longmont.co.us

Brian Bagley, (720) 400-9877 brian.bagley@ci.longmont.co.us

Katie Witt (303) 774-4414 katie.witt@ci.longmont.co.us

Bonnie Finley (720) 438-8818 bonnie.finley@ci.longmont.co.us

Mayor Pro Tem, Gabe Santos (303) 775-4005 gabe.santos@ci.longmont.co.us

Sarah Levison (303) 847-1647 sarah.levison@ci.longmont.co.us

Alex Sammoury (303) 642-5298 alex.sammoury@ci.longmont.co.us

Share Button
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in Regulations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *